A Dozen

A dozen years of baseball. The game has changed so much in just 12 years, yet it has also stayed the same. MLB has tinkered with some rules. Some have made the game better, some have made the game worse. While there are changes that we love, Ohtani Rule, and hate, runner on second in extra innings, what has not changed is our love for baseball. There are few sounds better than the crack of the bat and pop of the glove. Few better sights than the green grass against a blue sky. Baseball is poetry in motion. Not everyone understands the meaning, but most appreciate the game in their own way. 

How can you not be romantic about baseball? (The Winning Run/ DJ)

12 years is a long time to devote to anything. However, The Winning Run is a labor of love. I cannot devote as much time reading, researching, and writing about baseball as I would like, but the time I do have is always enjoyable. A dozen years ago I wrote about the retirement of Tim Wakefield (RIP). Since then I have written about hundreds of players individually and collectively. Every day I learn something new about baseball. What started as a side project became a passion. Thank you for reading along. I hope the love and devotion I have poured into The Winning Run has brought you joy and even helped you learn a thing or two along the way. 

Happy baseball. 

DJ

Leave a comment