Living The Dream

October is the month of dreams in baseball. Teams have worked tirelessly since Spring Training, and a select few are in the Playoffs with the chance to compete for a World Series title. Players who have toiled in the minors for years may finally get called up to the Major Leagues to fill the expanded Playoff rosters, for some this will be their only experience at the top of the sport. Umpires are rewarded for a year of excellent work by assignments in the Playoffs or the World Series.

Living the baseball dream is not reserved for only those working at the top of professional baseball. It happens everywhere the game is played. Earlier this Summer I was given the opportunity to work the NABF (National Amateur Baseball Federation) Cincinnati Regional Tournament. I had two simple jobs for each game I was assigned; score the game, and operate the scoreboard. Not difficult jobs, but you have to pay attention to every pitch of the game. The players, coaches, and fans wanted to know the count and score, thus I had to keep up with the game. As the official/ unofficial scorer I had to determine what a hit or error looked like, which on some plays is not easy task. I worked seven games over two day, enough baseball to satisfy the appetite of any ravenous baseball fan.

img_20160914_194855
The action from the Marty Brennaman Press Box. (The Winning Run/ DJ)

Fast forward to October and I am working a Wednesday night baseball league at the Urban Youth Academy in Cincinnati. The NABF Tournament is filled with players ranging from fresh out of high school, to several years removed from college. The Wednesday night baseball league is filled with players in the late 20’s and 30’s, so even older still, who are playing for the love of the game. Players in both the NABF Tournament and the Wednesday night league are all chasing the same thing; how far can they make it in this game. The odds of any of them reaching the Major Leagues, are so small you would need a microscope to see them. No matter, they keep playing this game until everyone tells them they cannot play anymore.

This is how I find myself sitting alone in the Marty Brennaman Press Box at the Urban Youth Academy. In Middle School my desire to continue climbing the ladder towards professional baseball outpaced my physical abilities. Knowing my future playing career was with friends on a sandlot field and not under the bright lights of the Majors, I had to find a different path to continue my rise in baseball. Jesse and I started The Winning Run as a way to continue in baseball after our skills told us it would not be as a player. Over the past four years, this blog has grown and evolved with our love of the game. This passion is what led me to become an umpire. I work slow pitch softball games in a beer league. While not baseball, it is in the neighborhood. This season of umpiring has become a great source of networking and education on the game itself and those working within it. My willingness to work on an almost nightly basis will see me umpire more than 100 games this season. The quality and hustle I have put into each game has meant my boss has given me more games and other assignments, such as the NABF Tournament and the Wednesday night league. More trust, means more opportunities. I will be attending a local umpiring camp over the winter and hope to begin working high school baseball games in Ohio in the Spring. Most likely my work in the Spring will be a combination of 9th grade/ Junior Varsity high school games and plenty of slow pitch softball. It is a step forward, no matter how small.

1474511864973
Baseball under the lights, a field of dreams. (The Winning Run/ DJ)

I have learned so much in my very short time working in baseball. This is not my full time job, the money I earn through baseball is for paying bills and putting a little in savings. My love for baseball began before my first memory. I do not remember picking up a glove or bat for the first time. Baseball has always been there, it was my first love and the passion continues to burn. I do not know which avenue will take me further in baseball: writing, umpiring, or something else. I love umpiring beer league softball, working small baseball tournaments, and writing The Winning Run. Regardless if I get a paycheck or not, I am living the dream. How many people get to say that?  

DJ

Leave a Reply

